County Team

The County Management Team is the County Commissioner,  Deputy County Commissioners, District Commissioners, the County Training Manager, and County Scout Network Commissioner. Together they manage and lead Scouting in the County under the overall leadership of the County Commissioner.

The wider County Team includes a wide variety of County volunteers who manage, deliver and support a wide range of activities, support and services provided by the County to help Scouting develop and grow. These include Programme Support Commissioners, Advisers, Assessors, Instructors, Scout Active Support members etc.

County Commissioner – Graham Brant  graham.brant@avonscouts.org.uk

As Avon County Commissioner, I am the senior operational volunteer within the County of Avon. Working closely with the Chair of the County Trustees board, my role is to provide strategic vision, leadership and operational effectiveness to the County. I achieve this with support of the nine District Commissioners, my Deputies and Assistant County Commissioners.

I have personally been involved in scouting since a young boy and have had experience of working with all the sections. Whilst the role is time consuming it is also very rewarding to see more and more young people being able to join our wonderful movement and gain lifelong experiences.

Deputy County Commissioners

General Duties – Stuart Ballard – stuart.ballard@avonscouts.org.uk

I am responsible for oversight of Activities, Special Needs, Queen’s Scout Award and Duke of Edinburgh Award (all of which have a dedicated ACC/Advisor allocated).  In addition, my role includes Safeguarding and Awards (Good Service/Meritorious Conduct.)

Growth & Development – Nigel Ball Nigel.ball@avonscouts.org.uk

My role is focused on growth and development. It encompasses creating new provision  and growing existing provision, working closely with the Regional Service team and the Pears project coordinator. 

Perception – Isabelle Mills – isabelle.mills@avonscouts.org.uk

I first joined scouting as a parent volunteer when my son joined Beaver Scouts, a few years later I became Assistant Beaver Scout Leader when my daughter joined our local Scout Group, volunteering once a week during term time.  I have held the role of District Commissioner, and now support the County Commissioner and DC’s with primary responsibility for Marketing, Communications & Perception for the County, as well as Camp Chief for Avon Jamboree 2020 . 

County Training Manager – Mike Banfield – mike.banfield@avonscouts.org.uk

I am responsible for all adult leader training in Avon. I have a team of leaders who support leaders through their training. My aim is to make training useful to our leaders and help them provide fantastic opportunities for our young people. Having been a member of the movement since I was a cub I want to make sure I put something back.   I have been a section leader and a Group Scout Leader in the past and have had an adult role for 20 years. 

Assistant County Commissioners

International Commissioner – Andy Hobbs – andy.hobbs@avonscouts.org.uk

I’ve been Scouting on and off for a while now and had the fortune to be involved in leading a World Jamboree contingent to Thailand as well as organising and participating in international experiences in the US, Italy, Switzerland and other odd bits of Europe. In my spare time I’m an acting GSL with a Group of 8 sections, about to stand down as an ESL and help out with our Young Leader training programme in Cabot District.I assist groups around the county with their international travel, ensuring they do the right things at the right time and remember to sort out the right bits so that their young people can have a safe and enjoyable time wherever in the world they want to go.

Activities Commissioner – Contact Stu Ballard – stuart.ballard@avonscouts.org.uk

The Assistant County Commissioner  – Activities (ACC Activities), the ACC oversees the adventurous activities permit scheme on behalf of the County and also to manage the various adventurous activity sections which include Water Activities (Canoeing, Kayaking, Sailing, Rafting and Rowing and Pulling); Air Activities  (Gliding, Hovercrafting.); Land Activities (Archery, Shooting, Hillwalking, Climbing, Caving, and Winter Sports).  In addition, I

assists the County team with major events, such as Jamboree’s.   Previous volunteering experience in Scouts has included, volunteering as a Scout leader as well as Assistant District Commissioner (ADC Scouts), having the opportunity to take my Scout Troop to an International Jamboree in Sweden in 1990.  Until recently I also held the role of Panel Chairman on a District Appointments Committee.

Beaver Commissioner – vacancy graham.brant@avonscouts.org.uk 

Cub CommissionerVacancy – Contact Graham Brant

Scout Commissioner Andrew Phelps a.phelpsie@sky.com

Explorer Commissioner vacancy – Contact Graham Brant

Young Leader Commissionervacancy – Contact Graham Brant

Network Commissioner – Gemma Sharples – gemsharples@outlook.com

As the Assistant County Commissioner for Network, I am responsible for supporting the District Scout Network Commissioners who are all working with their units to ensure a varied programme, based on adventure, international and community that The Scout Association provides for Network members across the County.

Youth CommissionerAlec Tomlinson – alec.tomlinson@avonscouts.org.uk

My role as County Youth Commissioner is to ensure that the Young People across Avon County have their voices heard and are able to shape their Scouting experience, from a Beaver deciding a game to play, to Explorers helping to run County Events. #YouShape

Deputy Youth Commissioner – Jack Bateman – jack.bateman@avonscouts.org.uk

Districts & District Commissioners

Axe District – Ali Kattana, Richard Hurst and Chris Owen-Brookes – dc@axescouts.org.uk

Bath Districtdc@bathscouts.org.uk

Bristol South District – Scott Stowell – scott.stowell@avonscouts.org.uk

Brunel District – Clive Mason – clive.mason@brunelscouts.org

Cabot District – Chris Gavriel – dc@cabotscouts.org.uk

Cotswold Edge – Dean Ashpole-Champman- dean.ashpole-chapman@avonscouts.org.uk

Gordano District – Tony Tween & Steve Hamey – tony.tween@avonscouts.org.uk

Kingswood District – Jamie Martin – jamie.martin@avonscouts.org.uk

Wansdyke District – Tina Curtis – tina.curtis@avonscouts.org.uk